Make an Appointment: [email protected] | 801-683-6830

  • Brene Brown Books- Which one should I read first?

    As a clinician my clients will often ask me which Brene Brown book to read first. On a recent visit to the website, I found an explanation that may aid you in your reading. Happy Reading!

    “My team and I receive emails every week from people asking “If I’m new to your work, where do I start? Which book do I read first?”

    Here’s how I think of the progression of my work:

    The Gifts of Imperfection—Be you.
    Daring Greatly—Be all in.
    Rising Strong—Fall. Get up. Try again.

    I offer brief overviews of my work at the start of Daring Greatly and Rising Strong, but reading The Gifts is always a good place to start.

    Braving the Wilderness is a book about belonging in a polarized culture and it stands on its own. You can read it anywhere in the progression.  

     I Thought It Was Just Me was my first book and is a deep dive into women and shame. If you’re looking for detailed information on women and shame, I still recommend starting with The Gifts then moving to I Thought It Was Just Me.

    If you’re looking primarily for a book on courage and vulnerability, or you want something that talks about applying “the work” at work – start with Daring Greatly.

    If you’re looking for a “I-was-brave-and-got-my-heart-broken-or-my-ass-kicked” book – well, first, thanks for being brave. Courage is contagious even when there are hard endings. Second, I would start with Daring Greatly then get to Rising Strong ASAP. Daring Greatly will remind you that your vulnerability was courage and Rising Strong will give you some ideas about how to deal with all of the stories we make up and keep on a loop when we’re dusting ourselves off.

    Hope this helps and thanks for your interest!”

    Leave a reply:

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked*